Fourteen days

Once I got back in the country, I went a lot of places and did a lot of things during my allotted time off–even during the weekend following my first official day back at work, which fell on a Friday. I set foot in six states and drove, by a rough estimate, about 3000 miles, while flying at least that far. I spent time with my parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, and a sizable number of friends whom I don’t often get to see these days. It was a superbly enjoyable couple of weeks, though it all seemed to fly past and ended almost as soon as it had begun. I was able to experience many of the things that I’ve generally done without since moving to Clovis.

As I feel like I proclaim ad nauseam in this journal, I’m grateful for health, family, friends, food on my table, job security, etc, etc, etc. I make every effort not to take any of it for granted. It’s hard not to feel, at best, disappointed with the way some things have turned out. I sometimes wish I could blot out many memories–some because they are intrinsically unpleasant, and some that, while pleasant, serve to remind me of what I don’t have anymore. But that’s part of life for many, if not all, people. I don’t presume that anything lasts forever, and I’ve become at least competent in dealing with unwelcome changes and bursts of bad news. For me to constantly be a shining star of positivity and always make everyone around me happier is a noble, but unattainable, goal. What I can do is persevere through my own struggles and strive to have enough of a reserve of brainpower, focus and emotional strength to genuinely help people when there is a need I can meet.

 

 

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Fourteen days

  1. Moppy Dimon Brumby says:

    Well expressed…..we’re the lucky ones who can list the “HAVES” along with all the rest…..the negatives are what make you grow, learn, and realize how important it is to listen to and care for others.

Leave a Reply

